Faculty Awarded Tenure in 2021-22

June 15, 2022

The following Seattle Colleges faculty members have been awarded tenure at their college during the 2021-22 academic year. They were recognized during a reception hosted by the Seattle Colleges Board of Trustees on Wednesday, May 25, 2022.

  • Nicole Cook, Information Technology and Application Development, North Seattle College
  • Lyle Crews, Real Estate Property Management, North Seattle College
  • Leann Dittmar, Pharmacy Technician, North Seattle College
  • Erik Jaccard*, English, North Seattle College
  • Benjamin Roberts, Electronics and Engineering Technology, North Seattle College
  • Vinod Sastry, Mathematics, North Seattle College
  • Nausica Zorzi, Business and International Business, North Seattle College
  • Janine Buis, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Katie Gourd-Ascencio, Nursing, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Anna Hackman, Humanities, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Ruby Hansra, Counseling, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Janet Hinson, Community Health and Education, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Bliss Holloway, Visual Media, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Scott Moy, Apparel Design and Development, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Nathan Ormsby, Web Design and Information Technology, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Agatha Stavnesli, Dental Hygiene, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • William Szigat, Marine Engineering Technology, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Steve Abercrombie, Sustainable Building Science Technology, South Seattle College
  • Sheila DeLeon, Basic and Transitional Studies, South Seattle College
  • David Hatfield*, Culinary, South Seattle College
  • Moonku Jun, Culinary, South Seattle College
  • Jill McDonough, Basic and Transitional Studies, South Seattle College
  • Mark Murphy*, Diesel Technology, South Seattle College
  • Stephanie Oostman*, Welding Technology, South Seattle College

* Awarded tenure at June 9, 2022, meeting of the Seattle Colleges Board of Trustees and will be recognized at the 2023 faculty tenure reception.

Tenure is a form of academic status awarded in recognition of the quality of a faculty member’s teaching, curriculum development, commitment to students and subject area, and service to the community. Those who earn tenure are awarded a secure teaching position at their college.

At Seattle Colleges, the tenure process generally takes three years. During the three-year process, candidates are observed and evaluated by a committee comprised of faculty peers, staff, and students. Candidates must meet criteria determined by the tenure committee and must be recommended by both the college president and the chancellor.