Faculty Awarded Tenure in 2022-23

May 30, 2023

The following Seattle Colleges faculty members have been awarded tenure at their college during the 2022-23 academic year. They were recognized during a reception hosted by the Seattle Colleges Board of Trustees on Wednesday, May 24, 2023.

  • William Barry, Math and Science, North Seattle College
  • Deepa Bhandaru, Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, North Seattle College
  • Angel Hayoung Kim, Workforce Instruction, North Seattle College
  • Erik Jaccard, English, North Seattle College
  • Desiree Simons, Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, Seattle Central College
  • Jimmy Truong, Nursing, Seattle Central College
  • Charlotte Brun, Library, South Seattle College
  • Sean Cargill, Workforce, South Seattle College
  • Denise Grollmus, Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, South Seattle College
  • David Hatfield, Culinary, South Seattle College
  • Amiko Matsuo, Art, South Seattle College
  • Mark Murphy*, Diesel Technology, South Seattle College
  • Stephanie Oostman*, Welding Technology, South Seattle College

* Awarded tenure at June 9, 2022, meeting of the Seattle Colleges Board of Trustees and recognized at the 2023 faculty tenure reception.

Tenure is a form of academic status awarded in recognition of the quality of a faculty member’s teaching, curriculum development, commitment to students and subject area, and service to the community. Those who earn tenure are awarded a secure teaching position at their college.

At Seattle Colleges, the tenure process generally takes three years. During the three-year process, candidates are observed and evaluated by a committee comprised of faculty peers, staff, and students. Candidates must meet criteria determined by the tenure committee and must be recommended by both the college president and the chancellor.

Faculty Awarded Tenure in 2021-22