Professional Leave Grants

List of Members of the Professional Leave (Sabbatical) Committee

2016-2017 Professional Leave (Sabbaticals)

From the AFT Seattle Agreement (5.10) "There shall be three types of professional leave for tenured faculty: Sabbatical Leave, Retraining Leave, and Return-to-Industry Leave. Tenured faculty having completed three or more years of full-time employment with the District [...] shall be eligible for Sabbatical" (See page 16 of the Agreement to learn more.) 

Please click on the following link to review the application guidelines and access the online application: Professional Leave Application.

The completed application will be read by your Dean, College Vice President of Instruction, College President, and the Professional Leave Committee composed of faculty and administrators. All proposals will be scored using the Professional Leave Application Scoring Form (See Application Guidelines for specific point distributions). Final committee recommendations to the Chancellor are made after committee discussions and final evaluations of the applications. The Chancellor's office awards Professional Leave Grants and determines how many to fund each year.

2016-2017 Professional Leave Application Deadline Schedule:

  • December 4, 2015: Faculty Application Deadline (always the first Friday of December)
  • December 11, 2015: Deadline for Unit Administrator Action.
  • December 18, 2015: Deadline for Vice President for Instruction's Action.
  • January 8, 2016: Deadline for Presidential Action.
  • January 15, 2016: Chief Human Resources forwards proposals to PLC.
  • January 29, 2016: Committee scores returned to Chief Human Resources Officer.
  • February, 2016: Committee meets to review, discuss, and adjust scores, rank applications, and make recommendations to Chancellor.
  • February, 2016: Approved, ranked applications are forwarded to the District Business Office for Review.
  • February, 2016: Business Office forwards recommendations to Chief Human Resources Officer.
  • March 11, 2016: Chancellor notifies awardees.
  • March 25, 2016: Final Reports Due (for all faculty who received Professional Leave awards in 2015-2016).
Note that all faculty receiving 2 or 3 quarters of leave are required to submit an interim report at the end of their second quarter. All final leave reports are due by the end of the quarter following the end of the leave. Final reports not received on time will result in the faculty member having to refund 50% of the pay received for the leave (as per article 5.10 of the AFT union contract).

Here are examples of successful Professional Leave applications:

Example 1 -  Example 2 - Example 3 - Example 4

To view professional leave reports

Please go to the District Document Center, and select browse to find Professional Leave reports by year.